I spent most of my day on Saturday shooting Video for Life In A Day.

Life In A Day was a Project done by Youtube. Basically, you filmed yourself on July 24th, 2010, showing what happened to you that day.

Some of the submitted Videos will be featured in a Documentary at The Sundance Film Festival. The Movie will be made by Ridley Scott, and Kevin Macdonald.

I first heard about it a few Weeks ago from a friend of mine who sent me the link on Facebook.
I read about it a few times, and thought about it alot.

One of my big goals in life is to be famous. Not just for my own personal gains, but I also believe that there’s a SEVERE shortage of Disabled people being used in Commercials, TV Shows, Movies, and/or Music Videos. I’d like to try and break down those walls, and be able to get myself, and others like me, on TV and the big screen.

Of course, there’s also the fame & fortune aspect for me as well. I’d like to be able to move away from here. I’d build a fully Wheelchair Accessible House for my Wife & I. We’d just sit back, relax, and feel good knowing that we overcame another barrier in life.

If I were to become famous, I’d also use my status to further educate people about Disabilities etc. I’d also want to do shows and/or Movies about us.

For example, I’d have a Disabled version of The Bachelor. The guy would be Disabled, and you’d have Women trying to woo him.
To some, it may sound far fetched, but I honestly never thought that a show like The Bachelor, or Survivor would exist, but it does, and they’re very popular.

I learned at a very young age, quite possibly on day #2 that anything’s possible if you want it bad enough.

Back to the Videos that I made.
The first Video that I shot was of me getting suctioned.
As I mentioned a few weeks ago, that involves putting a small tube down my throat to suck out stuff in my lungs.

At first, I was nervous about filming it, mostly because it’s a personal, medical procedure for me. I wrestled with the idea for awhile. In the end, I decided to film it for a few reasons.

1. I wanted the World to know what I go through on a regular basis, and to hopefully show them it’s not THAT scary.

2. There’s other people out there that get suctioned too, and I wanted to show them that they shouldn’t feel weird or awkward about it. It’s a part of your life. Yes, it sucks, but if it keeps you healthy and alive, don’t feel uncomfortable about it.

3. I also made the Video in hopes of educating others. Alot of times when I do it in Public Bathrooms, people stare, and I know they want to ask about it, but they rarely do.

4. I also wanted to show people that despite having to do it hourly, I still manage to live a pretty normal life.

Other Videos I did were of me going out, having Coffee, and talking about being in a relationship when you’re Physically Disabled, getting a transfer into bed, and lying down with my Wife.

My personal favorite is the one where I’m having Coffee & talking.

All of the Videos can be seen at:
http://www.youtube.com/user/ryanlythall

As for Life In A Day, all submitted Videos will start appearing on their Youtube page in August.

Their Website is located at:
http://www.youtube.com/user/lifeinaday

Winning Videos will appear in a Movie at The Sundance Film Festival in January 2011.

I also plan on buying a Video Camera at some point. I have a pretty interesting life, and I want to share it with the World, and perhaps have someone do a Movie about my life.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

