Day 9 at Bluesfest was headlined by Santana.

I made sure to get there early to get a spot.
Like a true Canadian/Concert goer, my first stop was the Beer Tent. I noticed that they had a Trivia booth set-up near by. I sat quietly for a few moments watching others, while silently guessing each answer. Once I realized that I knew Canadian Music well, I decided to play.

I somehow managed to get them all right. After that, they gave me a Fridge Magnet & a little flashlight.

After that, I headed over to the Platform to get a spot. It was a good idea because it was filling up pretty quickly.

It was an hour before show time, so I just sat in the back of the Platform drinking Beer after Beer, after Beer, well, you get the idea.

I saw the Superintendant of my Building, and he hung out with me for awhile. This seemingly set off a chain reaction, cause soon after, tons of people came over to thank me for getting the Platform. It’s quite gratifying when Disabled people went out of their way just to come meet me, say hi, and to personally thank me.

Speaking of which, I emailed four major local Festivals/events yesterday to see if they’d like my help with improving Wheelchair Accessibility. I contacted The SuperEx, Ottawa Jazz Festival, Westfest, and the Rideau Canal Festival. So far, none have responded yet.

Santana started, and after awhile, someone else stopped by to say hi. Bobby Slayton saw me on the Platform, and came over. I think he actually wanted to sit with me, but they didn’t let him. I was pissed about that because I really wanted to hang out with him, and talk to him. Like I said yesterday, I’m a big fan of his, so that would be awesome for me.

As for Santana, it was a GREAT show. He did most of his hits, plus old stuff, and new stuff, and some covers. I’m horrible with Song Titles, but he performed alot of familiar stuff.

Oh yeah, I just wanted to point something out.
Just because someone is Physically Disabled, it doesn’t mean they can’t be a Jackass.
Here’s an example of a Disabled Person being a Jackass:

So, because I had a few Beers (I lost count after the fourth one.) I had to pee a few times during the show. Each time I left, I got one of the Volunteers to save my spot, and my Beer.

One time I left, this jackass (I’ll call him roller jackass now.) decides to move into my spot. When I returned, roller jackass refused to move. He didn’t just refuse to move for me, but he refused to move for anyone, including others in Wheelchairs trying to get out. He also had a really pissed off look. At the end of the night, as I stayed to finish my last Beer, roller jackass was still sitting there pissed off, and not moving.

From there, I headed to the Bathroom. Driving into oncoming Crowd is quite hilarious at times. My favorite people are the ones talking or something, and not paying attention. Next thing they know, they’re face to face with a 500 pound Wheelchair in front of them. Their reaction is to either jump, scream, or move away. It’s even funnier when I’ve had a few drinks.

I headed home after that.

As for tonight, I plan on seeing Matt (don’t call me Matthew) Good, and Crowded House.
Crowded House was actually one of my favorite bands in the Eighties. Hopefully, both will be good.

I might check out some other shows as well.

Leave a Reply

