On Saturday, my Wife and I headed to Westboro to walk around.

Our first stop was Thyme & Again, which is a place where they make you food for a Week or something, and you can pick it up. I don’t know, something like that.
Anyways, I had an Espresso on the Patio there, which was pretty good actually.

From there, we headed to The Cube Gallery.
My Wife is from Montreal, so she wanted to see the Exhibit on Montreal.
It was small, but pretty good.

I love Montreal. I think it’s a beautiful City, but not overely Wheelchair Accessible.
The Subway isn’t even Accessible.

After the Gallery, we went to The Ottawa Bagel Shop.

This was my first time there, and I was impressed.
Besides the Bagels, & other food, they have a Restaurant, a Bar, Patio, TV’s, and a Coffee Bar.
I’ve never even heard of a Coffee Bar before, but I plan on checking it out before Summer ends.
The only bad part about the place is that the Bathrooms are downstairs.
If it weren’t for that, this would be a perfect place for me to hang out.

From there, we headed to a Store to check our Lottery Tickets, but we didn’t win.

In a funny moment, we passed by a Sex Shop, and right beside it was a Bar called “The Wood”.
So, basically, you can go have fun at the Wood, and then walk next door and buy stuff to fix your wood.

I should’ve taken a picture of the two places, maybe next time.
I personally found it highly amusing.

We headed to The Irving Greenberg Thetre to check it out.
We’re going to see “Time To Put My Socks On”, which is a Play written by, and stars, Alan Shain.
Alan’s a good friend of mine, and one of the reasons why I got into Comedy.

Here’s what the show’s about:

Time To Put My Socks On follows Marc – a 30-something year old guy with cerebral palsy who is about to celebrate his first anniversary with Linda, his nondisabled partner. Marc is bursting with excitement. He loves Linda! Linda loves him! She is poised to move in … Marc is plagued with doubts. Linda has a sock fetish. The more elaborate and colourful the sock the better! But Marc swears by white tube socks. They are quick and easy to put on. Can the love between Marc and Linda survive their war over socks?

An Original One Act
Created by Alan Shain & Michele Decottignies (Stage Left Productions)
Directed by Michele Decottignes & Nicole Dunbar (Stage Left Productions)

July 8, 9, 10 @ 8PM; SATURDAY MATINEE@ 3PM
Preview July 7, P.W.Y.C.

THE IRVING GREENBERG THEATRE CENTRE STUDIO, 1233 WELLINGTON (at Holland)

TICKETS $15 /$13 students & seniors/$12 MATINEE

CALL 613-236-5196 TO RESERVE
NO REFUNDS OR TICKET EXCHANGES
WARNING: Nudity & Adult Content

If you’re in the Ottawa Area, I urge you to please check it out.
I’m really looking forward to it.

Anyways, we headed home afterwards to get out of the heat.

A few hours later, we headed to see the Movie, The Last Airbender.
It was ok, but for $13, I expected a little more.

On Sunday, I headed downtown to have Beer, & walk around.

On Sunday Night, my Wife wanted to see Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings.
We saw them last year at Bluesfest, and they were great.
We didn’t want to pay $50 for Tickets, so we watched it from the outside.
Eventually, we got in and caught the end, which was pretty good.

Today (Monday) was interesting.
I got up at 10, and headed to the site of Bluesfest to check out Wheelchair Accessibility.
I was mostly concerned about the new Comedy Tent that they’ll be using.

One of the Organizers discussed the specifications of it, and how to get in.

When I first arrived, I noticed that the floor was two inches above the ground.
For people in Wheelchairs, that would be a problem, so I suggested that they put a Ramp.
I just received word (as I wrote this) that a Ramp will indeed be installed.

Voila!
It feels good to actually be listened to.

The Wheelchair Area will be along the side of the Tent, and you should have a clear view of the Stage.

The other problem that I brought up previously was not being able to see the Main Stage if people are standing. The fix for that was to add an elevated Platform, so we can see.
I checked it out, and it seems good.
It could be a little higher, but it’s a good start.
It seats between 10-15 Wheelchairs, and it’s really close to the Stage.
Unfournately, they weren’t able to put a Platform on any of the other Stages.

Personally, I’m very proud of the work I’ve done for the past three years at Bluesfest.
They’ve come a long way, but there’s still alot more to do as far as making it more Wheelchair Accessible.
It’s a great feeling watching it grow, and get better every year.
I plan to continue doing this for many years to come.

As far as being interviewed about being a Wheelchair Accessibility Advisor, that’s still a go. We’re just trying to figure out when, but it’ll either be this Week or next.

Speaking of Bluesfest, the fun starts in less than 24 hours.
If I get a chance on Tuesday, I’ll run down who I plan on checking out at Bluesfest this year.

I headed home after checking out the site.

As I turned the Corner, I saw Fire Trucks outside my Building.
Luckily, it was a false alarm, but the Elevators stopped working while people were returning home.
I decided to go have a few Beers at The Royal Oak.
An hour later, everything was back to normal.

Leave a Reply

