The Finals were held last night on America’s Got Talent.
Here’s who performed and what happened:

Barbara Padilla (Opera Singer)
She did the Song that she performed at her Audition. She blew me away with her performance. My only problem with her is that she sounds too good. Part of me thinks that she’s secretly a Professional Opera Singer, and therefore shouldn’t be in a Competition like this.

Drew Stevyns (Singer/Guitarist)
He did a cover of Chrissie Hines’s “I’ll Stand By You”, which is a pretty good Song. I just didn’t like his version of it. He’s a douche bag and he annoys me.

Hairo Torres (Breakdancer)
He did a “tortured soul” bit as part of his set, which I thought was pretty interesting. I can somewhat relate to that.

Lawrence Beamen (Singer)
He did a cover of a Barry White Song. I didn’t like it. When I think of Barry White, I picture getting freaky with a Woman. Put it this way, he went into the Crowd and just stood in a front of a Girl and just sang. Like I told my Wife, if that was me, I’d grope the Girl while I sang. As my Wife said, he needed to put his Cock into it. I sure as hell would.

Recycled Percussion (Band)
Ok, so you got The Blue Man Group Lite here. Their set featured two of their members getting wet and banging on things. I could go for the easy joke here, but I’ll pass.
I didn’t like them.

Fab Five (Power Tap Dancers)
Ah, the all Female Tap Dancing version of The Osmonds. What can I say? they danced, smiled, and talked about their happy Family life. No thanks.

Grandma Lee (Comedian)
She started off strong with a joke about Ryan Seacrest watching Brokeback Mountain. She finished strong with a joke about her new love, Simon Cowell. I found the middle part of her set kinda weak. It’s too bad cause I really enjoyed her other sets.

Kevin Skinner (Singer/Guitarist)
Another one of my faves here. He did a cover of Aerosmith’s “I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing”, which is another great song, but he should’ve done it without a Band. I think he would’ve nailed it otherwise.

The Texas Tenors (Singing Group)
I took this time to go to the Bathroom. When I came back, they sounded like they were barking or beying at the Moon. Either way, it wasn’t good.

The Voices of Glory (Singers)
They did a cover of Whitney Houston’s “The Greatest Love Of All”. I couldn’t even bear to watch it. Their voices certainly didn’t sound glorious. I’ve seen better acts in Churches, and I never go to Church.

Out of all of these, I think Barbara Padilla has the best shot at winning this year’s America’s Got Talent.

The results will be announced tomorrow night.
Also scheduled for tomorrow is a Performance by Susan Boyle.
Apparently she did a cover of The Rolling Stones “Wild Horses”.
I haven’t actually heard it yet, but I’ve heard that it’s pretty good.

I’ll be back either late tomorrow night or on Thursday to let you know who won.

Thanks for reading.

Comments
  1. Sue C says:

    I listened to Susan Boyles Wild Horses and it was very good. Looking forward to seeing her.

    I really don’t know who should win. I was liking Kevin Skinner up to last night and didn’t think he sounded that good. I do like the Texas Tenors but not sure they should win. Really tough. Barbara Padilla was awesome but an opera singer needs to be careful of their voice and doing a couple of shows a day at Las Vegas would probably not be good for her. We shall see what America thinks.
    I think we need a Canada’s Got Talent now.

    • ryanlythall says:

      I love Susan’s story and Simon’s face when she debuted. Truly, a Cinderella story.

      As for AGT, that’s a good point about Barbara.
      Whoever wins has a tough road ahead of them.
      The money will help ease that probably.

Leave a Reply

