I woke up, like any other day back then and got ready for School.
At the time, I was going to Algonquin College to try to get my Highschool Diploma, plus I also had a Part Time Job working in the School Pub.

As per usual, I slept in and almost missed my ride. Normally when I woke up back then, I’d put on the TV or Radio, but in my haste, I didn’t bother.

I headed Downstairs to the Lobby where my ride was waiting, which was unusual. The Driver had no idea either or if he did, he didn’t mention anything to me.

I got off the Para Transpo Bus and headed to the Bathroom right away, still without a clue.

From there, I walked into the Bar to get my Daily dose of free Coffee. I walked in and everyone was gathered around the big TV by the Entrance, which seemed odd, especially at 9 AM.

I managed to get around the people and headed to the Bar. I happened to look up at the EXACT moment one of the Planes hit the World Trade Centre. My first thought was HOLY FUCK!

This wasn’t gonna be a good day at all.

Everything in the Bar just seemed to stop for a few moments, as we all just sat in true disbelief. As if that wasn’t enough, there was another Plane doing the same thing a few moments later.

It was soon time for me to head to Class. To make matters worse, I had a Test to do that day as well. I didn’t think I’d be able to concentrate on it for obvious reasons, but I did, and I was somehow able to pass.

I was supposed to work after Class, but my Boss cancelled my Shift due to the amount of people still gathered there.

I sat around waiting for my ride home, and being thankful that we weren’t in New York City.

After awhile, my ride showed up and I headed home. For the next few hours, I just stayed home in front of the TV. Every Channel had 9/11 reports and footage running almost non stop.
I got annoyed by this after a few hours.

A little while later, I received a Phone call from a friend out of the blue. She had called because she thought that the World was ending and she wanted to hear my voice one last time.

After our chat, I needed to get out and do something.
Originally, I was gonna go see a Movie, but everything Downtown had pretty much shut down due to the attacks.
I did manage to find one place opened for Business though.

A Strip Club

I headed there and had a few drinks. It was surreal watching Women get naked and sliding down a pole, while CNN was on all the TV sets in the Bar.

I guess they figured if we’re gonna die, you might as well feel good and be surrounded by Naked Women.
I agreed with that logic actually.
The only downside is that the last song I’d hear would probably either be by Def Leppard, Van Halen, or White Snake.
Knowing my luck though, it would be Celine Dion.

A few hours later, I headed home and went to bed, feeling thankful to still be alive.

One thing that I should point out that still haunts me to this day.
A few days before the 9/11 attacks, I had a dream about the event.
It was eerily vivid, right down to the CNN footage of the Rescue Workers, and even the way I found out about it in the Bar.

I often dream about things coming up, not only in my life, but in others too, even complete strangers.
It can be pretty scary at times, but the 9/11 dream was the worst.

My heart goes out to anyone and everyone that was affected by the horrible tragedy. I know there’s MANY of you still out there that are still suffering from it.
To those people, all I have to say is try to be happy and thankful for everything in your life as much as possible.

To all the rescuers out there, thank you for your hard work.
Without you, things could’ve been much worse.

And to the rest of you out there, thanks for reading.
Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

