Before I begin, I just wanna say that I spent a few hours last night with my Wife & I saw her this morning before she headed to the Train Station. Also, she said that I can watch America’s Got Talent that I recorded on Wednesday Night. Once I see it, I’ll post the results here and see if my votes counted. I’ll probably watch it either tonight or tomorrow.

Alright, so how many of you remember the big blackout of 2003?
I certainly do.

I’ve posted this story at least once before on here, but alot of new people are coming to this blog lately, so I’ll write about it again.

It was around 4 PM on August 2003. I decided that I was gonna do Laundry. I gathered all my stuff and headed to the Basement. I had just put my Clothes in the Washer when the room went pitch black. Luckily, I hadn’t started the Washer yet. The blackout started at 4:15 PM.

I headed into the hallway and hoped that the Elevators would work. Luckily, I managed to get back to my place. I stayed home for a few minutes, then decided to head out. I wanted to see how people were adjusting to it and what it was like around downtown Ottawa during this.

As I headed outside, I passed by my best friend. (R.I.P. Chris Puddy)
We spoke for a few minutes and I asked him if he wanted to come along, but he said no. I remember saying as I left, “I don’t know what’s gonna happen or what I’ll see, but either way, I’ll see you on the other side of this”.

With that said, I headed downtown to The Byward Market to see what was going on. By the time I got down there, most places were either closed or closing up. It was very bizarre for me driving my Wheelchair down the Street and not seeing traffic lights. I saw Cops and even normal Citizens directing traffic.

When we arrived at the Market, a Woman from CBC stopped me for an interview. She wanted to know how I was coping with the Blackout and how it affected me. At this point, it didn’t really bother me. I wish she had stuck around cause the story was about to get a whole lot more interesting.

I headed to (then called) the Chateau Laurier Hotel to use the bathroom. At this point, I was starting to worry about my Battery on my Ventilator. The Manager of the Hotel saw me and asked if I needed a ride to the Hospital.

A little while later, Para Transpo arrived and they took me to the Hospital, so I could get plugged in. I arrived and they put a face mask on me, which annoyed me.

A few hours later, my Battery died, so they gave me a bed in the ER. As time went on, I started getting tired, so I tried to sleep.

It was hard enough dozing off with all the alarms going off. Just as I closed my eyes, they decided to ship out everyone who were just there using the power.

At 3 AM, a Para Transpo van had arrived to take us to a Community Centre in Orleans. Orleans is about a 30 minute drive from the Hospital. So here I was, in a van with strangers, barreling down the highway after 3 AM.

We arrived at our destination just before 3:30 AM and we wanted to sleep. This time, they gave us Cots to sleep in. Sleeping on a Cot when you’re disabled isn’t the best idea in the World. I was extremely uncomfortable and my back was starting to hurt.

At this point, I had given up on the idea of sleep. I just wanted to go home and sleep in my own bed.

At 9 AM, I heard that power was slowly returning to people living downtown. I hopped on a Bus & returned to the comfort of my home and my bed.

Needless to say, I slept for the rest of the day.

Thanks for reading,

Leave a Reply

