My Wife managed to get Train Tickets for us to go to Montreal for a day trip on August 22nd. I think Montreal’s a beautiful city, especially Old Montreal. It’s not exactly overly Wheelchair Accessible, but I always have a good time there.

Actually, today’s childhood memory has to do with Montreal, but I’ll get to that later.

So, I had a busy day so far.
I went to the Bank this morning to pay bills. This Afternoon, I went to Walmart to buy household items. So long story short, I’m a poor man.

Tonight, my Wife & I are heading to a Photo Exhibit sponsored by World Vision. We actually sponsor a Child from Africa, and it’s been just over a year now. I have to admit it’s kinda fun hearing from her & being sent drawings from her. It’s pretty rewarding too. I suggest that if you can afford it, give it a try.

After the Exhibit, we’ll be heading to The Sparks Street Mall for the Busker Festival. Most of the acts were here last year or previous years, but we’ll still check it out. Tomorrow night, we’re heading to the Rideau Canal for the Rideau Canal Festival.

So, I’m gonna be busy for a few days, plus it’s a long weekend here.

So here’s another childhood memory.
My Classmates & I went to Montreal when I was a kid. This was my first time there, so I was pretty excited. One day, we decided to go to Park Safari just outside of Montreal. Our Bus is going down the Highway & we see a barriade set-up by the Police. I think there was an Escaped Convict or something, so the Cops were stopping all Vehicles.

So, put this image in your head cause it’s pretty funny.
Our Bus had four kids in Wheelchairs, including me. We’re all about eleven or twelve years old, give or take a year or so. Also, on the Bus were four Adults, including the Driver. We pull up to the Cop Cars and he’s talking to our Driver. She explained who we were & where we’re going. Next thing I know, the Cop gets on our Bus with a HUGE Revolver Shotgun, which I nearly crapped my Pants looking at. He assured us that nobody would get hurt & he was just looking around.

After we felt safe with the mystery man with a HUGE gun, we asked if he’d take pictures with us. So, sure enough, we all took turns posing with him. There’s a picture of him, me, & the Gun in my Living Room. If I remember right, I look horrified in the picture.

Well, that’s it for now, but I’ll be back tomorrow.

Thanks for reading.

Comments
  1. DeScepter says:

    How much does it cost to sponsor a child? It is something I would like to do but I am not sure I can afford it currently. I also worry about how much of the money actually gets to the child, and I am leery about giving money to an organization with a religious leaning. I’d appreciate any insight from someone who has done it, if you wouldnt mind sharing some more info.

    Also, you should totally upload that photo of you and the shotgun cop.

    • ryanlythall says:

      Thanks for the comment.
      It costs $40 a month to sponsor our Child. My Wife & I split the cost, which is the main reason that I wanted to do it. Like you, I had my doubts, but we researched it & asked questions about it. Every few months, we get a letter from her and also get a progress report on her. We both enjoy doing it together & we feel good about helping her.

      I know I should post that picture, but I don’t see that happening.

Leave a Reply

