My Wife & I headed to Lebreton Flats to hear some free Beethoven Music. It felt very strange going to the same place where Bluesfest was held a week earlier. There were people sitting in Lawnchairs that were my Parent’s ages & even the age of my Grandparents, and kids & babies.

I had the thought in my head of showing up there with my KISS makeup and thinking that Bluesfest was still on. I would’ve done it too, but I don’t have a Video Camera. That’s the kinda thing that I NEED to capture and put it on youtube. People’s reactions would’ve been simply priceless I think.

We stayed there for about 45 minutes relaxing & enjoying the music. It was kinda odd for us, especially for me because I’m not exactly a fan of Classical Music. At least it was free & outdoors.

It rained earlier today & will probably rain more later tonight.
That means it’s time for another childhood memory.

Today, I’m gonna talk about the first time that I broke my leg.
Yes, even people who can’t move much, can still be spazzy.

I was eleven or twelve years old at the time and just recently got my first powered wheelchair. I was in a friend’s room in the Hospital. We were talking about a cute girl that was staying there at the time. We had both wanted to see which one of us would have the guts to go talk to her. I said that I’d go first. So, off I went.

I left his room and started driving my chair really fast up & down the hallway outside her room. In my head I’m thinking that this is gonna impress her & she’ll fall for me solely based on my Wheelchair driving skills.

Wrong!

In my moment of glory, I forgot to take my finger off of the button & I drove right into the window ledge beside the main entrance to the ward. The ledge was at the perfect level to hit just below my right knee.

I immediately started crying right before the Nurses ran towards me to help. At this point, I slowly returned to my room in pain. The whole time, the girl was sitting by her door & laughing at me. To make matters worse, nobody believed me when I said that I thought I broke my leg.

Two weeks later, a Nurse noticed while giving me a bath, that my leg was blueish. As far as we knew, it’s bad when a body part goes blue. Later that day, I had my right leg x-rayed and sure enough, it was broken.

I’m still not sure how I lasted two weeks with a broken leg without a cast. Back then, I was swimming three times a week, plus all the lifting from bed/chair/pool/bath tub etc etc. It’s a miracle that I didn’t need Surgery to repair the bones.

However, there’s a happy ending.
The girl remembered me the next time she returned to the Hospital. She apologized for laughing at me & we became really good friends for a little while. As for the other guy, as it turned out, she wasn’t too fond of him. Sadly, she passed away a few years later and he soon followed.

I guess it’s a happy/sad ending.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

