On Friday, I’m getting up at 8 AM to go to a Thrombosis Accessment Clinic.

Here’s a brief description of what it is:

This is an urgent care clinic investigating and treating patients with suspected and confirmed deep vein thrombosis (clot in the leg) and pulmonary embolism (clot in the lung). The clinic also provides consultation services for patients with suspected or confirmed thrombophilia (tendencies to develop blood clots).

The clinic provides a perioperative anticoagulation (blood-thinner) service for patients on long-term anticoagulants and manages all aspects of care for patients on long-term anticoagulants (monitoring dose adjustments / risk management).

Long story short, they’re gonna see how I’m doing as far as the Blood Clot goes. They’ll probably take some Blood work, which is always fun due to the fact that it’s hard to find a vein on me. From there, they’ll probably tell me what I can and can’t do, plus tell me what my future holds as far as having to take drugs for the rest of my life.

I can’t think of a better way to spend a Friday, can you?

At least, my Wife will be with me.

Leave a Reply

