Late Friday night, I started getting Chest Pain. At first, they weren’t bad, so I figured that I’d try to sleep it off. As the night went on, the pain got worse and I didn’t sleep at all. By the time Saturday rolled around, I was in extreme pain. It honestly felt like I was being stabbed everytime I breathed.

My Wife & I got to the ER around Noon and waited about 45 minutes for them to admit me. I laid down on the ER bed for at least 30 minutes before anyone really saw me.

They tried 3 times in a row to get blood from me, but no luck, so they stopped for awhile. A little while later, they sent me for X-Rays, which was really painful because they had to sit me up, and put a metal board behind my back.

At this point, things got worse. For those unaware, I use a Ventilator 24/7 to breahe. One sits on the back of my chair as I go about my life. Normally, it runs on an External Battery, which can last 9-10 hours on a good day. I’m also able to plug it into the wall at any point to save Battery Power. When you plug it in, the light goes to “AC Power” to tell you that it’s plugged in the wall and everything’s working properly. It wasn’t switching over. At one point, it started going haywire when I was on my way to get my Chest X-Ray. Luckily, it started working a few minutes later.

So, we kinda had another problem on our hands. I needed to get another Ventilator asap. In between the other tests/procedures that I got, they hooked me up to another Ventilator.

Speaking of tests/procedures, I got Blood taken afterall, an IV, & , an ECG (Electro Cardio Gram), and a CT Scan. A CT Scan is when you go through this machine, while it spins arounds you, and it takes X-Ray images of you.

So after all that, they discovered a Blood Clot on the left side of my Chest. Luckily, they gave Pain Meds, so I could feel comfortable.

So because of the Blood Clot, I now require a daily shot of a Blood Thinner for the next few days. I have a Nurse coming later tonight to give me my 2nd shot. Let me tell you something, I have 5 tattoos, and have been injured many times, but this needle is freakin painful.

As for the Ventilator, a Nurse had to come on my ride home cause they gave me a loaner, so I could get home.

Right now, I’m using the one that I usually use when I’m sleeping. Obviously, tomorrow I’ll have to make some calls, so I can get another one.

As for me, the pain keeps coming and going, but it’s not as bad as yesterday. I’m hoping that things will start getting better now.

They also gave me the same Antibiotics for another 10 days, but nobody seems to know if I should take them while I’m getting my shot.

Sorry for the long post, but that’s the way it happened.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

