I’ve been blogging for almost ten years on various websites in the cyber universe. To me, I think of it as an outlet for me to vent, plus also educate the masses about what it’s like to be disabled. At least, as far as my disability goes. By no means am I an expert about disabilities in general, but I do try to do my part to make information a little more accessible.

In my personal experience, I don’t come across a lot of disabled users online. At least not ones that admit they’re disabled. For all I know, there could be many, but either I haven’t seen them, or they hide the fact that they’re disabled.

I visit a lot of different sites, whether it’s to chat, play games, write etc. Fact is, I spend a lot of time online, especially in the Winter. Whenever possible, I tell people that I’m disabled and if they have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask. Most people infact DO ask questions and I answer as honestly as I can. I have a question for you people  though.

Why can’t people do that in real life?

When I go out, people often stare and/or say something to themselves or if they’re with someone. I wish more people in this world has the balls to say, “Dude, what the fuck happened to you?”. Sure, that sounds rude or offensive to most, but personally, I’d laugh and gladly answer. Yes, I march to a different beat than most. Hell, I wheel to a different beat.

Kids often come up to me and ask me point blank what happened to me. The Parents usually drag them away because they think it’s rude. If I get a chance to answer the kid, I simply say that I was born this way. Sometimes the child smiles to let me know that they understand. Others just sit there looking REALLY confused and thinking that I’m a Robot. Hey, if I was a kid, I’d want a 500 pound Robot too, either that or be scared shitless.

To me, it doesn’t overly matter what they’re thinking. The point is that the message got out there and they just met their first (or one of their first) disabled person. The fact is that it will happen again sooner or later, and perhaps now or later in life, they will be less freaked out.

All of this is magnified when I go out with my Wife. The thought of a disabled person having sex is messed up enough for many people. A disabled guy with an able bodied woman is even crazier for many.

The World is made up of a hell of a lot of crazy people, but to me, it just makes life interesting and fun. There’s also a lot of people out there that hate diversity and different people and things. If it were up to them, we’d all think the same, act the same, and even look the same.

Thankfully though, I happen to be different, but also just like you.

See you next time, everyone.

Comments
  1. Kate says:

    Well put.

    My kids are learning to ask questions sensitively – that is, if you’re curious, you ask, but first you take half a second to make sure you’re wording it in a reasonably polite way. We just had a fantastic conversation with a blind man about his seeing eye dog (are they still called that? I forgot to ask – seems like everything else has been replaced with new, PC terms, even when I didn’t realize the old term was not PC) yesterday.

    But it’s because I’ve had my sister in my life for almost 18 years now, and we’ve dealt with the stares, the muttering, and only rarely the honest curiosity. There just seems to be this assumption that being physically different must automatically imply a severe disruption in IQ. Crazymaking, though in recent years it’s been fun to watch her find subtle-yet-effective ways to let people know that she may not win a footrace, but she is well-armed for a battle of wits.

  2. ryanlythall says:

    It’s a good thing to teach kids. Like I said, it becomes useful in life. Who knows” Perhaps one day they’ll have a Disabled Teacher or a Disabled Boss.

    Seeing Eye Dog is still the right term I believe.

    I honestly forgot that your Sister is Disabled. What does she have, if I may ask?

    When I get stared at, I usually stare back or just ignore it.

Leave a Reply

