I’m not sure who still subscribes to this blog, remembers me, or even reads this anymore. I’ve decided to return here, at least for today. As far as whether or not I’ll return regularly, that depends. It depends on how I feel about blogging, depends on the response/feedback that I get. It just really depends. If that makes me a “here today, gone tomorrow” type, so be it.

The main reason that I’m here again is there’s something that I need to vent about.

As most of you know, I performed Stand-Up Comedy for two years in Ottawa.

Last September, I informed the Club that I’d be taking time off due to Winter coming soon and it’d be harder for me to attend my gigs. It was understood that I’d be returning in Spring and I could call when I was ready to return.  Long story short, the Club has recently moved to a location that’s not wheelchair accessible. Basically that means that there’s no longer any accessible Comedy Clubs in Ottawa.

To answer your question, I’ve been trying to get the word out about the lack of accessible places in Ottawa. I’m not just referring to Comedy Clubs either. I’m talking about Bars, Clubs, Theaters for plays/performing arts, restaurants, and the list goes on and on and on.

So far, the (Local) media has backed away from doing a story about it. There was a small article about it in The Ottawa XPress last week with me in it, but I consider it complete bullshit. About 98% of what I told the reporter wasn’t used. To me, it was just an “ass kiss” article. If you really want to see it, I’m sure you’re capable of googling it to find it.

In the end, this all means that as of now, I’m no longer able to perform Comedy or even see Comedy in Ottawa. When it comes down to it, I’d rather see Comedy than perform it. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed doing it and hearing people laugh, but I hated the politics, the bs, and how I was treated at times by SOME of the other Comedians. Besides, if I ever want to do Comedy again, I could get a video camera and put it online and do it that way. I realize it won’t be the same, but at least my name would get out there.

Who knows what’ll happen…

In other news, there was a recent OC Transpo strike here in Ottawa. It went on for 54 days and the buses are apparently returning bit by bit starting this weekend. The strike has also affected Para Tranpo (Local Transit service for the disabled) in the sense that rides are an hour or two late, or not showing up at all. Personally, I’ve had to cancel & reschedule at least four Medical Appointments because my ride didn’t show after waiting 45 minutes-to an hour. So, that’s something else that I’ve been dealing with as well. I’ve emailed my City Councillor a few times about it. I’m heading out tonight to go shopping, so let’s hope that I get there and get back in one piece.

I still have a lot more to talk about, but I think an almost 600 word post is enough for now.

Thanks for reading.

Now justify my love please.

Ryan

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    taxi’s are a dangerous way to go ……

Leave a Reply

