Rough Weekend

Posted: February 6, 2008 in disability, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I had a rough weekend.

On Sunday night, I was rushed to the Hospital because I had problems breathing and severe chest pain. I should point out that I use a Ventilator 24/7 to breathe. Needless to say, it can be pretty risky/dangerous when I have breathing problems. The Ambulance came to pick me up, along with my Wife and my Attendant. We got there about 15-20 minutes later and then we had to wait another 15-20 minutes to get into the ER.

We got in there and they quickly went to work on me. They hooked me up to wires and tubes. Eventually, they gave me a Chest X-Ray, took blood, and started an IV.

It’s always a challenge to get blood from me due to the fact that it’s hard to find a vein on me. It took at least 3 stabs by 3 different people to finally get blood from me. They finally got it on my left hand. My right arm and hand are pretty bruised up still.

A little while later, the Doctor returned to tell me that I had Pneumonia and they were going to put me on an Antibiotic.

Dud to my Disability, I have a hard time chewing. The Drug that they wanted to give me was in Pill form, so they had to change it to something for Children. I don’t have a lot of faith that it will cure me, but I’m feeling a bit better.

They discharged me soon after and I was free to go home. The problem was that I had no way home. When the Ambulance picked me up, they weren’t able to take my wheelchair because there was no room for it. Our only option was to pay $80 for a regular Ambulance to pick me up or pay $114 for a “specialized” Ambulance. We chose the less expensive option.

We waited all night in the ER to get picked up, but nobody showed. By 8 am, we were exhausted and fed up. My Wife took a Cab home to pick up my chair and returned to the Hospital with it. We managed to get a wheelchair accessible Taxi and headed home.

By the time we got home, it was Noon. We had been gone over 12 hours and with no sleep. My Wife and I spent the rest of the afternoon napping on & off and just relaxing together in bed.

It was rough on the 2 of us and we’re still feeling the effects of just being in the Hospital for 12 hours without sleep.

As of now, I plan on playing Boccia tonight. I don’t really feel like going, but I’m hoping that it will make me feel better and get my mind off things for awhile.

Thanks for reading and I’ll be back very soon.

Comments
  1. Glen says:

    Hey Ryan,

    Sorry to hear about your ordeal. Us January kids are tough, so I’m sure you’ll just shrug it off and continue on.

    I’m interested to see what you blog about.

    Cheers, Glen.

  2. ryanlythall says:

    Thanks for the comment.

    Keep tuning in.

Leave a Reply

