My World And What’s New In It

Posted: January 30, 2008 in disability
Tags: , , , , ,

Truthfully, not a whole lot, at least not to me.

You might beg to differ though.

My last post was done last Friday. So let’s see here.

On Saturday, I woke up and cleaned up my bedroom. My Wife decided to go skating on the Rideau Canal. This is something that’s hard for me to do, at least on a moment’s notice.

I get cold very easily, but I want to go this year, even if it’s only for a few minutes. The last time I did that was about ten years ago.

On Sunday Afternoon, I spent some time with my Wife. Later on, I headed to a Movie Theatre to watch wrestling on the big screen. I’ve been a big wrestling fan since in the 80s.

Here’s an interesting story.

Because of my disability, I require having someone with me at all times. Here in Ottawa, you can apply for a special card that lets the Attendant into movies for free. When we arrived, I looked for my card. As luck would have it, I couldn’t find it. When we got to the counter, the guy made me pay for two people, which came to $32. I was pissed, but had no real choice. A few minutes later, I went to the bathroom and after some more searching, I found it. We headed back to the counter with the card, but the guy didn’t want to reimburse me. He tried to tell us that the card wasn’t accepted because it was a special event. He paged the Manager and sure enough, he refunded the money of the extra person.

So another victory for the under dog.

Monday was a quiet day for me.

On Tuesday night, I attended a social gathering for disabled people. It wasn’t my thing, so I headed across the street to the mall and bought a Hot Chocolate. A little while later, I took the Bus home.

Tonight, I’m heading out to play Boccia. Boccia is basically Italian Lawn Bowling adapted for the disabled. The idea is to get your ball closest the white ball. That pretty much sums it up.

That’s it for now.

Leave a Reply

