Home Is Where My Heart Is

Posted: January 30, 2008 in disability
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s freezing outside.

As I write this, it’s -11 Degrees Celsius and the windchill makes it feel like -21.

Brrr

I played Boccia (Read previous post to read what Boccia is) and I’m getting better every week. Before the Christmas Holidays, my last game was almost 20 years prior. It’s just like learning to ride a bike again.

The bad part about the night was having to wait an hour for my ride home. At least I didn’t have to wait outside.

I have an appointment on Thursday to see my Social Worker. I see her every two weeks because I have issues, but don’t we all?

My issues stem from living in a Hospital for 19 years. The only reason that I stayed there was because there was no where else to put me and my Parents weren’t able to look after me 24/7.

It wasn’t easy living there. I lost alot of friends due to their various illnesses or diseases. Needless to say, it got lonely and sad there quite often, but I survived.

When I became too old for the Hospital, they originally wanted to put me in a Group Home, but I refused. I wanted to live “outside the bubble”. It took about 4 years to get what I wanted. I wrote letters, went to Politicians, and the Provincial and Federal Government. In the end, I won, I defeated the Government. At the time, I was the first Ventilator Depended person to live on my own, instead of an institution.

I’ve been living on my own since 1994 and I love it. To top it off, I’m a successful Comedian married to a beautiful woman.

This is where I should point out that we don’t live together. If we lived together, I’d lose my funding for my medical supplies and my life in general. It’s not that bad because I see her almost every day and sleep there on the weekends usually.

So that’s basically how I got to where I am today in my life.

If there’s out there reading this that in a bad situation, here’s my advice.

Don’t give up on yourself and your dreams. It might take a lot of work, but in the end, you’ll feel proud for earning it.

It may sound cheesy, but I’m living proof that it truly does happen.

Leave a Reply

